The following is a letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria.

"Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for using the beaches. Although this solution may annoy a few tourists in the short term, it will raise money for replenishing the sand. Replenishing the sand, as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia, will help protect buildings along our shores, thereby reducing these buildings' risk of additional damage from severe storms. And since beaches and buildings in the area will be preserved, Tria's tourist industry will improve over the long term."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The letter regarding erosion addressed to the tourism bureau of Tria is severely lacking is evidence to support its claims. The letter argues that erosion will eventually ruin the presumably already struggling tourism industry on the island. To remedy this, the letter proposes charging people to use the beaches. The money will then be used to replenish the sand on the beaches. Replenishing the sand was a solution used by another island. However the argument misses the mark by ignoring important evidence such as the results of replenishing the sand on the other island, whether the beaches are the most popular attraction to tourists, and the fact that tourists can just visit another beach for free.

Upon first viewing of the letter, one is greeted by a rather obvious flaw in having people pay to use the beaches. This is the fact that most people would prefer to visit another beach than to pay for use of Tria`s beaches. It is stated in the letter that Batia is a nearby island. What is to stop tourists from visiting there instead of Tria? They would get a similar beach experience without the fee. Additionally, how much would beachgoers be charged to use the beach? Would it truly be enough to fund a replenishing of the sand on Tria? In reality, very few people who are already paying a large sum of money to go on vacation will be willing to incur more fees. The tourists industry of Tria would more than likely decline even more as tourists forego paying to use the beach at Tria for using the beach on Batia for free. In addition, Batia has already found a solution for the erosion problem that does not cost beach goers money.

One other piece of evidence that is absent from the letter is whether replenishing the sand on Batia had a notable effect on beaches and buildings. This process may have made an imact, but it did so over many years, or it could have been an expensive waste of time and money that did little, if anything, to protect against large storms or to improve the tourist industry. The letter does not clarify this in either way.

Finally, the letter implies that by ensuring that the beaches and buildings on Tria are safe, the tourist industry will be as well. The letter does not present evidence to prove that beaches are the most important tourist attraction on the island. This island may attract more tourists because of an unusual piece of architecture or because of a fantastic shopping center. It is not necessarily the beaches of Tria that attract the most tourists.

To recapitulate, the letter is lacking in several pieces of evidence to prove its claims. Most notably, the facts that tourists are more likely to travel somewhere else than to pay more money to visit a specific beach. All the arguments presented would weaken the presented letter. Overall, requiring beachgoers to pay for its use would cause more harm than good because doing so would weaken the tourism industry of Tria further.