"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While this argument seems reasonable at first review, there are some underlying questions that must be answered. These include their competition, the type of advertising Super Screen is currently utilizing, and the number and quality of films shown in the past year.

The initial question upon reading the argument is whether or not Super Screen made the same number of movies as in previous years. If the company produced fewer movies, they would of course receive a lower number of viwers. Regarding the reviews, did Super Screen produce less movies but those they produced were of better quality? If the company made fewer movies but those they produced were of better quality, it would make since that they would accumulate proportionally fewer viewers, but those who watched would have left better reviews. This would also largely depend on when Super Screen released movies.

Releasing a movie is all about timing. If Super Screen produced and released a film during a slow weekend it would attract more movie goers than if they released a film the same weekend as, say, Avengers Endgame which is the highest grossing movie of all time. Therefore, competition between movies, particulary when one is up against a big franchise, is undoubtably paramount. The question that would need to be addressed then is when Super Screen released their movies in the past year and against what type of competition. If they were going up against some of the biggest franchises of all time, all the advertisments in the world would not greatly improve their number of viewers.

The final question that must be asked is in regards to advertising. What type of advertising have Super Screen used in the past? It is not that the argument that by advertising more, Super Screen will attract more viewers is entirely invalid. The question is what type of advertising are they using. In today`s world, the best way to reach people is through social media outlets including Instagram and YouTube. However, if Super Screen has been using old media such as newspaper and television as their sole advertising outlets they are unlikely to attract as many people. Therefore, if Super Screen does put more money into advertising, they should do so in a more modern way.

To recupitulate, the presented argument, while valid, is in need of some clarification. Once they figure out their individual problems of when they release films and the number of films they produce, they can tackle the overarching issues with advertising. Only then can Super Screen look at increasing their advertising budget.