The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The conclusion that the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Company has come to claims that the general public is not aware that there are good movies being produced out there, and that is the reason they are not showing up to watch them in the past year. The claims supporting this argument have made quite a few assumptions, and have omitted quite a few factors that would help in strengthening his argument. If there was more information provided by him, there may be a chance that his conclusion is a cogent one.

There is a claim made that fewer people attended the movies during the year, and the reason assumed for that is that those people did not know the movie may be good. However, isn't it at all possible that during the last year the economy was getting worse and worse, and people did not have enough disposable income to go to the movies frequently? There is no external factor mentioned that could also be an alternative factor that could explain the low attendance. It could also be possible that there were more sporting events during the year that occurred which led people to be more interested in spending their time and money watching the games instead of movies. There is also no evidence that shows that in the former years, the people who did attend actually liked the movies which were produced. Couldn't it be possible that there were a few bad movies in succession which drove down the attendance? Perhaps if they could spend some part of their budget in conducting a poll or a study that asks the general public the reasons for their low attendance, whether it was the qulaity of the movies, or that they did not know about the movie, or something else.

Furthermore, the claim made that there had been an increase in the positive reviews by the movie reviewers was not supported by actual data. There is no information about the actual quantity of good reviews before this year. Couldn't it be the case that those reviews were very less in total, or the amount of good ones were very low, or how much percentage increase was there actually? If there were only 2 good reviews before and 3 good reviews this year, then that is not a very big increase at all. More information on the critic reviews would make things clearer. It could also be the case that the content of the reviews is being reached, just not how the company wants it to. There could be some misrepresentation, or some factor offending the public, such as discrimination or racism in the content. Again, if there was a study done to research more about the numbers or the reasons, it would make his conclusion stronger.

If the reason for low attendance was that people are more interested in sporting events, then allocating more moneyu for advertising would in fact be harmful for the company. And if after a poll or a study, the company finds out that people do in fact like sports more, they could spend some part of that budget to make a movie related to sports, which could help in increasing attendance numbers. Hence, to have a more composed and sound conclusion, it is important to have more data about the decisions the people are making, and why they are making it. Couldn't the amount of bad reviews also have been increased in the past year? There is also no mention of that aspect, and so the complete story of the quality of the movies is also quite vague. By having read the poorer reviews, they may able to decipher if there is something wrong with the content or not, and if there is, then they can focus more on those aspects.

By taking the measures mentioned above, the director's argument can be supported with claims that can make his case stronger, and in fact increase the company's chances of using the extra money for better results in the future.