A nation should require all students to study a shared national curriculum.

In America, the majority of college students have been taught the same subjects and information for the twelve or fourteen years prior to college. This is because the United States requires that students complete a specific curriculum and learn a certain set of skills in the years leading up to college. The idea of a nation requiring students to study a national curriculum does not only allow students to be on a mostly level playing field when they enter college, but it also gives students the knowledge of basic skills they will use in everyday life and a variety of classes in which they will find their interests.

A national curriculum may increase the changes of a student finding out exactly what they are most interested in and what field they will lean towards in college. From a personal standpoint, if it were not for my high school requiring a career research paper, I would not have found out about speech language pathology which is the career I am passionate enough about to be pursuing in college. Students learn very quickly just what they are and are not geared towards and they tend to gravitate towards what they are more skilled in. This elimination may happen as soon as elementary school. Fast forward to high school when students are required to take a specific set of classes but have the ability to choose what level of classes they take (i.e. AP, honors, or "regular"). This is beneficial because it allows them to continue to learn what is required but to have the choice of where they will excel. If students did not have national requirements they may focus on only one area and not obtain the full gauntlet of knowlege needed for the real world.

When students do not have a shared curriculum they may lack in specific skills needed for life in and post college. Students should not be able to pick and choose one hundred percent what classes they will take in school. To be realistic, most would have a schedule of art, physical education, and maybe english. Students who are less skilled in the areas of writing, for example, would completely ignore these classes and be unprepared for college classes. Then comes the argument that classes such as trigonometry or algebra have no purpose in the real world. This may seem true, but such classes prepare a student for college level math and, more importantly, higher order thinking. Another argument would be that not all students choose to go to college. There are certain skills learned prior to college age, however, are useful in any career whether it be a areospace engineer or a fast food employee. There is information covered in most math and english classes that must be learned by every student in order to find success in college and later on in life.

Lastly, when a student enters college they are required to be skilled in specific facets of education. Countries should have a national curriculum to create a fair and equal start for all students. Again, if students could choose what they take in school there would be very few engineers or scientists.

Countries should have a national curriculum to create a level start for all students. Irronically, on a larger scale, lacking a curriculum may stereotypically lead more men to science and more women to English related careers removing diversity.