The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument above presents a case from Happy Pancake House that substituted butter with margarine and concludes such a change did not impact customers significantly. Apparently, the café is trying to cut the costs but maintain current level of visitors and is almost ready to jump into conclusion that suggested measure is cost-effective and will increase the profit. However, the conclusion is, most probably, only ostensibly efficient and require more thorough examination of provided proves before any further actions.

To being with, the assumption that customers who do not complain are happy with suggested service is hasty. Many consumers do not give any feedback but stop using a service or product as a response. To prove an assumption that only 2% of consumers are truly unhappy with substitution of buffer with margarine one should conduct a valid norm study that will prove it directly.

As another proof that some customers did not notice the shift, the author cites the fact that many servers declared that customers did not complain when got margarine instead of butter. First, the doubt of source reliability call to obtain the same information through other sources: the servers might provide information on customer complains untruly because, for example, they have incentive for not having complains. Second, the arguer refers to the number of servers who provide data as “many” which casts a doubt on validity of the sample: was it representative? May be only the most efficient stuff was interview who is so highly professional that never have complains. Third, customers may indeed not complain just because they either, as I have mentioned before, do not say anything but do not return or customers assumed on their turn that the café have no butter. Actually, so many reasons can affect why customers do not complain. May be, they think that is hopeless. We just do not know. Norm study would help to resolve the discrepancy.

In conclusion, to make sure that customers truly were not affected by the shift, a norm study embracing representative sample is vital.