Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A chain of health food stores considers expanding its franchise into a new location. While the initiative may be worthy of praise, the plan rests on unjustified assumptions and fails to present clear numbers to validate the proposal.

The author suggests that Nature’s Way stores can be successful only in those locations where residents lead healthy lifestyle. And the indicator, used to validate healthy lifestyle, is doing sports. Sport is, indeed, important indicator for those who use health supplements but is not the only one. Think about older generation who barely do active sports but still are concerned with maintaining stable health condition and, thus, could be a significant source of business for a Nature’s Way. Another group that could compose a nice and actively buying target audience is, for example, mothers and mothers-to-be. Mothers typically are very concerned with healthy eating on their own and even more preparing healthy food for their families. As a result, omitting mentioned groups as a target audience may cause underestimation of demand and unbalanced product range; thus, when combines, leading to potential profit losses.

Another questionable assumption is that customers buying sport related goods do sports. That is not necessarily so. To begin with, nowadays fashion trends suggest using comfortable sport clothing in everyday life. Thus, one of possible explanations of why running shoes sales are that high is adopting of running shoes by non-runners who do not care about healthy lifestyle at all. The same concern goes to highest sales of health club membership: people often buy membership but do not visit the fitness club. Being fit is also trendy and some customers want to follow the trend but fails to do so: book aerobics or weight lifting classes but never visit them. To validate that assumption the author should provide data on how many city residents do sports: what percent of total adult population visiting fitness clubs (all fitness clubs of the city, not only one) and compare that percent with other locations where franchise proved to be successful.

Finally, author cites fitness-for-life program that educated young city residents on benefits of fitness on early age. The initiative itself is very laudable but, unfortunately, but it does not help grow customers for health life stores. Edifying pupils of benefits of fitness is not the same as educating them on benefits of health food. Though fitness and healthy eating often goes hand-in-hand, I do not see any evidences that this is the case for Plainsville program. On top of that, possessing some information does not equal to adopting that information into your daily routine. Most people all over the globe know how beneficial is exercising for health but still do not exercise. That is even more valid when it goes to kids: most probably they repeat parental role models (though, recently it becomes more popular to follow peers’ role models rather than parental) rather than imbedded by teacher’s data. As a result, the statement that new generation will become healthy life adepts is also very dubious.

To sum up, the arguer should re-think how to define its target audience and make clear quantification of its size. Only if potential customers present in the city and in the necessary quantity, the franchise may expand into the new location.