Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Suggested argument postulates that that increased number of skateboard users deteriorate Central Plaza’s business. While it may be true that riding inside busy mall skateboarder might have scared away many customers, and this kind of obstructive and potentially dangerous demeanor is unacceptable the argument fails to prove it.

To begin with, skater’s demeanor should be clarified. It’s not obvious now whether skateboarders indeed misbehave in a disruptive way. In case skaters, indeed, ride inside of the mall and, moreover, collide with shoppers and the number of such incidents is significant enough, business decline could be attributed to skater’s activities. Also, citing increased amount of litter and vandalism in the plaza, author implies that skaters did it, though that fact is not stated directly and remains unproved. But what is even more important is whether those facts caused shoppers’ dissatisfaction and consequent refusal to shop in the mall. Though, such an inappropriate behavior is unpleasant but could remain unnoticed by customers if cleaning and effacement happens in a timely fashion and, thus, decrease in number of shoppers was not caused by skaters.

Another thing that should be investigated precisely is whether business decline was not caused by changes in business environment. So, to begin with, let’s have a look at customer’s ability and readiness to pay. If customers’ income diminished, customers obviously refuse to spent at the same level as they have spent earlier. On top of factual changes in income, even only expectations of income decrease or even possible absence might cause unwillingness to visit shopping malls and spent. For example, shopping malls of Racine could experience significant decrease in number of customers right before head cut at SC Johnson and even more severe decrease after the head cut happened. Not only changes in local business environment may affect customer’s readiness to spent, but national shifts (or expectation of such a shifts) might do so too. For example, Belarusian consumers became significantly more stringent with their spending in approximately 3 months before actual economic default in 2011.

In case examination of purchasing ability does not reveal changes, one should check whether product range sold in Central Plaza remains appealing for customers. For example, Plaza might lack in organic goods when majority of customers are concerned with the origin and methods of production. Or consumers might prefer environmentally safe products and Plaza vendors do not satisfy to the condition or, though satisfy, do not communicate it properly.

In case customers are satisfied with product range, another point to double check on is structural shifts of target audience. Structure of target audience might have changed. For example, baby boomers got older and succeeding group is significantly less in number to replenish them.

And last but not the least, is competition. It’s vital to understand that customers did not switch to other shopping facilities. For example, nowadays e-commerce became such a convenient and trusted market place that brick-and-mortar marketplaces naturally suffer from outflow of customers. Take for example rapid development of Amazon that indulges its customers with speedy delivery and thoughtful pricing, promotions, and product range and, thus, recruiting more and more customers in true adepts of online shopping.