The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 is happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

The business manager concludes customers’ satisfaction after changing butter with margin also expresses detecting differences between butter and margin is hard for customers or they use both word as same mean. The passage supports the idea by surveying number of customers’ complaining. At first glance, the passage explanation seems to be strong enough but in deeply revising another explanation can infer.

To begin with, the author assert customers are totally OK with new changing because just 2 percent of them start to complain. To put in the other hand, 98 people out of 100 people don’t feel any problem. It is crystal clear that the conclusion has problems because maybe some persons never complain or they don’t want to leave their comments. For sure, these kinds of customers never come back to Happy Pancake House restaurants also they never suggest the restaurant to anyone else. As a result, the other conclusion is possible and has to consider.

Furthermore, the passage mentions many reports which speaking about no complaining about serving margin instead of butter and say maybe people can’t find the differences between these two. Surely, this explanation can have a lot of alternatives. What about if customers find the differences but like margin and don’t have problem with this change or they prefer to not complaining. It is true that some customer might have problem in detecting but it is not true about every. Therefore, the author had spent more time to find another explanation before concluded this idea.

Without any shadow of doubt, using butter and margin for same meaning can have another problem in proposing in the passage. To be specific, customers may realize changing but it isn’t important for them or maybe they use both butter and margin in their foods and they don’t care about nuances or margin is a healthy food. As a consequences the explanation in conclusion is a flaw and can be different.

In conclusion, I do believe the business manager proposing explanations have strongly alternatives. Since, we can elicit customers don’t leave comments in the case of 98 people don’t have problem also they like this change and don’t distinguishing or they can detect differences but don’t care about using both word for same meaning.