The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Conclusion: Customers are not able to distinguish butter from margarine or they call margarine as butter

Assumtp: only 2% complained about the change took pace

Servers have reported that customers do not complain

Unstated: Does people taste the margarine> Did they use it in their food only 2 %

How truth ful are the servers/ Maybe lost of job

Does taste is same for butter and margarine

In the memorandum from the business manager of Happy pancake house restaurants, it is stated that customer do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term butter for margarine. This conclusion is based on the assumption that, only 2% of the customers complained about the change that took place in the Happy Pancake Restaurant where other 98% did not complain. However, after more light is shed on the issue and more detailed facts are concerned, lack of answers through the argument, leads me to question its validity.

First of all, did everyone who visited the restaurant eat margarine? In other words, did all the customers ordered margarine? It might be possible that out of 100 customers that visited the restaurant only 2 have ordered and complained about the change. Maybe rest of the customers didn’t even try to have margarine so they eventually ended up not complaining about it. If the above assumption is merit, then the argument is weakened.

Secondly, did 98% customers have a complaint verbally with the manager or did they write on a paper which was not considered? It can be possible that other customers were also not satisfied with the change and they just had a verbal communication and not in the written form. In this way, their feedback is never considered. If the above assumption is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, how can conclusions can be drawn that a person is satisfied if he did not complain about it? It can be true that the majority of the customers might have a problem about butter but they didn’t complain about it because they might have other issue which is far more important the change of margarine in the place of butter. They might have other dish complaints. If the above mentioned scenario is true, then the argument is not strengthened.

To conclude, the argument, stands as of now, is considerably flawed. However, after more evidence is given and answers to the above mentioned questions are offered, then the argument can be evaluated possibly.