The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

First of all manager claim that this change does not affect the number of customer in pancake house, by citing the weak evidence that just 2 percent people complained about the recipe change. Perhaps people –who loves butter, knew that restaurant has change the ingredients and menu, do not come in the restaurants and this two percent is just the people number who have not informed about the decision and 98 percent, who does not complained, may be the number of people who does not care anything about the menu. Perhaps there might be the case most of the restaurant customer do not report, however, this incomplete data does not tell enough information about their taste. It might be the fact that the butter lover may have been reported to the restaurant administrator many times and they does not address the issue and customer already leave to go there.

Furthermore manager assert that, "customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead" mean these customer either do not know the taste of butter or they consider each item as same thing. The result might be the claim as the manager, however by citing the weak evidence one cannot confirmed as the manager said. He cited this evidence as many of his servers. Even many of his server does not necessarily represent the real case, there might be chance that the employer may have reported the the case number of customer who asked for butter many times but the restaurant manager did not listen to them and now they does not say this thing again to their boss or there might be the chance that employee cannot express the feedback adverse of company latest decision.

Most importantly, even if the reported data is representative, it does not mean that they does not differentiate of the taste of margarine and butter. It might be true that their recent customer has been declined and these number is only who does not care about the change in menu, they might just enjoy food what they have provided. Or it may be fact that these clients had already known about the company changed menu willing to accept the company recent decision.

Thus in conclusion, it might be the case as the manager said but he is hasty in generalization of customer behavior. Before reaching to his conclusion he have to study the several other factor about customer characteristics and necessary information as in earlier discussion.