Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument is concerned with diminishing population of arctic deer and believes that decline is caused by global warming. Though global warming does affect our planet and all living species, one cannot blame environmental changes for all the changes around the globe. If additional information provided, the case of arctic deer population decrease could be qualified either because of human adverse activities or, indeed, consequences of climate changes, or not qualified as a case at all.

To begin with, lets evaluate human factor involved in building the case. First, the report that brings the concern was provided by hunters. To evaluate the trustworthiness of the report, one should ask about the background used for that report: what kind of survey was done by hunters to estimate the population, how the survey was conducted, did hunters conduct the survey independently of hunting activities or simultaneously? In other words, scope, method and sample groups are just few off-hand things to know for estimation of survey validity.

Though even without sufficiently conducted survey, hunters could observe less arctic deer but not because population decreased on its own, without interference of human beings. Think about increased number of hunters that caused decrease of deer due to their hunting activities. Or, the number of hunters remained the same, but years of practice in killing animals made them more effective in shooting. Hopefully, licenses limiting hunting activities are valid at the territory and protects animals. To eliminate hunting activities as a reason of the decrease, the increase in number of hunters should be checked, as well as possible changes in regulations of hunting activities.

Though human activities may induce almost extinction of some species, global warming may do so too. That is quite possible that because stags could not migrate from island to island due to unfrozen sea they got stuck at some island and starved. If proof for that the assumption is found, that would strengthen the key implication of the argument – the population decreased due to effects of the global warming. But on the other hand, global warming could simplify life of arctic deer by creating a habitat on one of islands that is cold enough for deer to live and propagate but not too cold for forage to grow. In this case, the argument will be weakened. The population did not decrease, it just migrated.

And finale, the saddest of possible outcomes, arctic deer did not migrate and was not shoot by hunters, but indeed failed to move to another island because sea waters did not freeze and starved to death because of grass scarcity. That outcome, though not substantiated, fully complies author’s point of view. But to obtain evidence to support that is relatively easy – interview the hunters. Hunters would see and remember cadaverous animals for sure. Sight of starving living being is hard to forget.

To sum up, without extra data proving that animals did not migrate but indeed decreased in number due to environmental shifts, the argument cannot be reaffirmed.