Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statements, though very enticing to me personally, declares that any government should invest in art as much as they do in military. I can easily imagine such a society where everybody has access to arts, have opportunity to enjoy Tchaikovsky and Beethoven performed by, for example, Matsuyev or Gaysin, or read the first original version of Tolstoy or visit Metropolitan every day and have an all-embracing guidance to every masterpiece. And, on the other hand, i can easily imagine millions of gifted children who do not hesitate choosing artistic career because, if art is supported by government, they will maintain the existence at least equivalent to their abilities. I can easily imagine how gregarious and equanimous could become a society, how much beauty would appear and disseminated throughout the world.

Such an idealistic, i would even say utopian, concept, unfortunately, does not stand any critique. To begin with, opportunity is not equal to action or motivation. Though even if people will have an access to greatest artistic works does not mean that they take a chance and go for it. The reason why people may omit art from their daily routines is not only because most people are mentally lazy, do not want to think a lot and prefer ready solutions to elaborated thinking, but also because modern people can barely break their humdrums even for their own kids, enjoying rare vacations and local events, too tired to be active.

Except for people who most probably wont appreciate increased opportunities to indulge themselves in such a sochisticated pleasures, that particular people might even become more anxious when know that countries security is not substantiated enough or (at some severe cases) even compromised. Imagine hostile, bellicose neighbouring country that is accumulating military muscles on a daily basis while your country is investing in music. That won't comfort you a lot, right?

To sum up, art is a nice place to invest. But, as famed Maslou noted within his pyramid, safety first, and self-expression (read art) is a top of the pyramid.