The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend—the city-run public schools—comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools—even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This argument is well presented yet far-fetched. It lays a claim that Parson City residents place a higher value on the good education than Blue City because it spends much more budget on education. Nevertheless, due to several flaws after close scrutiny, the argument has to establish some pieces of evidence to make the statement more convincing.

First of all, a problem arises in this argument that the author points out that the majority of money which spend on the schools in Trillura come from taxes. However, this contention not clearly indicates who make this statement. It might open to a number of interpretations such as that the data is coming from the government, the guessing of the author, or the news with no original source. We would never know where the data come from and whether the data is accurate or not. Hence, without accounting for and ruling out other likely possible, by no means could the author contend that this information is correct.

In addition, even though the writer may be able to provide us with enough information to infer a solution to the above problem, this argument is still ill-conceived. Another problem is Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City, therefore, the writer states Parson value on education more than Blue City. It may be right that Parson really spent much money in recent years, but it is not going to say that Blue does not pay attention on education. Blue City is entirely possible that they already cost very large fund on education in the past so that its education is very well, and does not need to expend much more money on it than before. In order to confirm his point of view, the writer should pay close heed to as well as address the alternatively representative probability mentioned above. Only the specific situations in both cities' education are the key to bolstering his advice.

Ultimately, even if the previous assumptions might turn out to be supported by subsequently detailed illustration, a crucial problem remains that the article says both cities have the same number of residents. But this is meaningless since the same number of residents cannot represent the same numbers of people who need to be educated. In this light, it is reasonable to cast doubts upon presumption which made by the author because presumption actually is inadequate in that although Blue City has the same number as Parson City, its total students in schools are less than Parson. Consequently, it is of course that Blue does not have cost much more money on education than Parson. Pursuing this reasoning proves that the writer has the responsibility to carefully consider his assumptions and then provide cogent evidence to pave the way for a more reliable argument.

In hindsight, it seems precipitous for the author to make the summary based on a sequence of problematic premises. To eliminate the implausibility of conclusion, the author must offer the more specific evidence mentioned on the above.