The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author suggests that students in Parkville should stop organized sporting competitions because it harm on students' safety, mental development and academic works outweigh the advantages it brings about. Close scrutiny of the reasons provided by the author reveals no solid ground to support for the claim. In addition, as the author mentions no merit of these sport games, it is unjustified to say that disadvantages are more compelling than advantages they bring to students.

First, to support the argument, the author cites the fact that more than 40,000 of youth-leager sport players got injured in the past year. However, the language is ambiguous regarding how serious the injuries were. A simple angle twist and a severe bone break can both count as one injury incident. It is quite possible that most of the injuries in the statistics are slight ones, in which case it seems not provide very compelling grounds on the suggestion to discontinue the sport leagues.

Second, the author contends that another reason for ceasing the sport matches was that they induce stress in youth players. However, the survery on which he bases this claim was conducted on a limited range of "soccer players in several major cities". For one thing, we do not know if the result drawn from major cities can be generalized to all cities in Parkville. For another, the sample of soccer players may be not representative of all youth-league players, as there is possibility that only for sports as fierce as soccer would cause the pressure on players, but not other less competitive sports. Moreover, the author fails to illustrate that such psychological pressure to win is necessarily a harm rather than something good for players. Perhaps the experience in the sport team can help students develop stronger personality which is beneficial for their long-term development to be successful.

To further proves the argument, the author cites the education experts, who stated that practicing sports are taking time from academic activities. First we have no idea about the context and the exact words used by the "anonymous" experts here. But leaving that aside, we can examine the statement per se. For one thing, it is unfair to assume that practicing sports are occupying time that should have been devoted to academic work, rather than video games and Internet surfing. For another, it is quite possible that although taking up time, playing some sports between study sessions can actually boost the efficiency of students' study. Either possibility would render the statement unjustified, thereby arguing against the author's argument that practicing sports are harmful to the young players.

Lastly, the author did not mention a word about any benefit that playing in a sport league can bring to young students, before trying to weighing the disadvantages and advantages of it. Before going through a well-rounded consideration, the argument will remain biased and unreliable.

In conclusion, the reasons provided by the author supporting the suggestion of calling off the athletic competitions are problematic in themselves. In addition, the author seems to be biased and only take into consideration one side of the problem. Therefore, the argument is unjustified and unconvincing.