The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the letter the author argues that the Parkville’s children under nine should not be participated in athletic competition to several reasons; increasing injuries, psychological pressure and disadvantages in academic activities. The author’s argument seems convincing at first glance, however, lack of assumptions leads me to question the credibility of the argument.

First, assumption whether the number of the injuries and the total number of the young players under nine are significant should be affroded by the author. Exact number of the athletes under nine should be considered, because only 40,000 of young injured player cannot present the gravity of the injury problem. It is plausible that the 40,000 number of the young players might be minut, if the total number of the young players in the Parkville is numerous. Therefore author should conclude based on exact numbers.

Second, the author should presume whether the recent study is convincing or not, since there are no specific information about the interview it is too hasty for the author to believe that the result of the study is persuasive. More detail information should be afforded on the study, for example, the number of the conducted young player, the questions which young players answered, the degree of the psychological pressure they received and which kinds of pressure they have received from their coaches and parents. A recent study cannot support the author’s conclusion just because it is conducted recently.

Third, the author should assume more about how and why the sports competition hamper the young players academic activities. The reason that the author contend is weak, we should listen to not only the education experts but also the sports experts. Furthermore, more specific assumption should be afforded by the author that how much time does the sports take away which could be utilized for academic activities and how much time the children demands for the academic activities. In addition, the sports experts might stress that sports activiy and healthy competition could improve the childrens brain activity that help their academic activieis.

In summary, the author’s argument seems unconvincing on many grounds, because of weak assumptions and informations. I believe that the author should give more detail assumption, which I mentioned above, to strengthen the argument.