“Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places”

The statement raises a problem about the flexibility of the Law, which is also the concentration of law experts and the ordinary public. From my perspective, I believe that law should be flexible enough while the flexibility makes no harm to the law's authority.

It makes sense to urge the flexibility of the law, and the reason lies in the fact that the law cannot cover all the situation in the real world. For example, if someone on the street is dying of a heart attack and a kind driver pick him up and break the traffic rule in order to get him to the hospital in the shortest time. In this case, most people would hold the argument that the driver should not be punished for breaking the traffic rule since life are far important than rules. Another example is the behavior of the grey zone in the real world, which do not break the current law yet produce the negative effect on the society and the individual. The rape whose victim is male, for instance, cannot be accused of any crime in China, whereas this conduct would cause huge damage to the victims' mental health. In this way, the laws are also supposed to be flexible in order to punish those vice and bring justice to the victim.

Nevertheless, the unstable laws can also cause a series of questions. According to the social contract theory, the government is obligated to maintain the stability of the society. The frequent change of the law, however, brings the chaos and the unrest of the whole society. Additionally, the changeable laws would enable villains to make use of the laws for their own profits. Therefore, any item of the laws should be formulated and implemented after deep consideration and discussion of the experts and representatives from various aspects of the society to make it suitable for the society. This, at the same time, means the boring and trivial procedure of any change of formulation of the law, which justifies the necessity of the laws stability and ensures laws' practicability and authority.

Finally, those properties of laws do not have to conflict. For those rules and crime which is of low effect on the society and individual, we could take the real situation into account and make a flexible judgment. we should be cautious, however, to any modulation of laws which could have a great impact on the whole society.

To wrap it up, at the first glance, it could be hard to choose my position, especially when complicated situations in the real world are taken into consideration. However, after deep contemplation, I claim that the law should be adjustable for those minor behaviors yet remain authority to those disciplines causing great influence to the society.