Local innovation and initiative can help us better understand how to protect our environment.

We all depend on our surroundings and environment for proper enrichment of life. We gain most of our adolescent knowledge and form opinions from our surroundings thus it seems imperative that we protect our environment and learn to appreciate it. To protect our environment, we need to understand its intricacies and growth. This, as the author suggests comes through local innovation and initiative which help the society to prosper and grow intellectually.

Firstly, local innovations play a very important role in understanding the environment as innovators need to disect the problem, analyze it and think of a solution which forms in the innovation. This fundamental understanding goes a long way in making sure that the environment is protected. For example, as we live in massively crowded cities with only a few scattered parks, we have been subjected to seeing blank lifeless buildings, but an innovator has come up with the idea of vertical gardens which can be grown on vertical walls. This works on the interior and also the exterior walls of the building. This shows that he made a conscious effort to understand the need and make sure it is fulfilled so as to make up for the diminishing number of foliage in urban spaces.

However, the above example wouldn't have been possible if there wasn't an initialtive to drive the thought into fruition. An act is performed only if the idea is kickstarted and followed through to the end. Hence, an initiative to do something good is always needed. In an urban environment, one of the major issues we face is waste management. The environment which we live in is gettingadversely affected as our waste treatment and management is not upto the mark. Here, the initiative of collecting the plastic waste and recycling is advantageous, but someone might just take it a step further and use the recycled waste to generate new products which reduce the burden on the already deteriorating environment.

Finally, the most basic requirement to understanding how to protect our sared environment is to get close to in and get to know what the real problems are. Projects such as local gardens and parks help in understanding the root of the problems. For example, residents of my town felt the need of having a park for the children to play in the neighbourhood. This made them search for the suitable land area and what was needed to rehabilitate it into a useful space of land. They found out that the soil there was less fertile so they made sure that the soil is made fertile wso that it could to vultivated with flowers and trees when the park is built. An year later, that same plot of land is teeming with flowers of various varieties and also is flocked by a number of birds which enrich the local environment.

In conclusion, to beter understand the environment, we certainly do need local innovatnons which provide careful insights into how the environment will respond to certain changes and how t handle it. Moreover, initiatives also play a huge role to discern how the environment can be made better or to provide adewuate sustenance to it.