"As long as people in a society are hungry or out of work or lack the basic skills needed to

survive, the use of public resources to support the arts is inappropriate---and, perhaps, even

cruel---when one considers all the potential uses of such money."

The prompt asserts that using public money to facilitate and encourage arts is ill-suited in a society which is suffering from various diseases like hunger and lack of survival skills. It might be tempting to agree with this declaration because art is not a fundamental need and there is enough doubt on the intent of the Government. However, the prompt overlooks certain economic and societal benefits that could be enhanced if the Government endorses art.

The prompt is based on the assumption that arts has no positive effect on the society. Nothing can be far from the truth. There are many art-based industries which contribute towards employment and wealth generation for a country. For instance, the film industry gives livelihood to a lot of people. Films when broadcasted in foreign countries also generate foreign currency for the nation. Again, many indigenous crafts attract tourism and support the local economy. The Government should encourage and facilitate local arts and crafts to uplift local artisans and overall strengthen the economy. And in many cases it has been successful. For instance, Madhubani painting is an intricate artform practiced by many poor artisans in an obscure region in India and it was slowly dying. The Indian Government has facilitated in marketing and creating awareness for this artform. Now those paintings are sold at a very high price in the international market and the artisan community along with the artform is thriving. Also, Government sponsored Museums are tourist attraction and generates jobs and money for the people. So, to declare that use of public resources to support arts is meaningless as it has no potential benefit, is specious at best.

Apart from that, arts also have many intangible benefits. Arts is indispensable element of a society. Arts mirrors and reshapes the ideals and the aspirations of a society. It was various literature by the likes of Voltaire that caused the French revolution. In recent history, the films and the novels have not only reflected the virtues and aspirations of the society but also remodelled it. Also, arts is imperative to maintaining the general well-being of human being. Music soothes the mind and helps in enhancing productivity. General art makes us kinder, compassionate and more cooperative. For a society to flourish these positive values should be given importance.

But it is true there would always be doubt on the Government’s usage of the public money. The government might use this fund to strengthen its own propaganda. Again, too much investment of public money on arts neglecting other vices of the nation would be detrimental. Probably usage of public fund for arts should be moderated and it should be on specific areas of arts which would provide maximum benefit to the society.