Luck plays more of a role in determining success than work ethic does.

Although a reasonable person might argue that work ethics is the primary factor in deciding the success, I believe that a combination of hard work and luck is necessary. It is wise to consider that the success of a task is dependent not only our work but some other uncontrollable factors which fall under the umbrella of luck, for instance, if you are participating in a car race and all of a sudden a tire bursts then no matter how hard you try the odds are clearly against you and you cannot really win the race.

Let us first consider the example from field of sports, particularly Cricket. Sachin Tendulkar, one the of the most renowned batsmen of Indian Cricket team is know for his hard work and persistence. His cricket career started at a very young age of sixteen, and in one of his interviews he recalls how he used to reach cricket ground before 5:00 AM without fail during those early days. He definitely attributes his success to the amount of work he has put all through his successful career. However, if you listen to his talk after a particular cricket match, he states that we were "lucky" to have a weather and pitch which helped in batting well and scoring runs. He certainly understands that attaining success is definitely a complex combination of various factors, few that we can control by our hard work, while others which we cannot control but we can hope to be lucky.

Form the field of cricket let us turn our attention to the field of science. Let us look at one of the most distinguished scientists of all time, Thomas Elva Edison, and his famous light-bulb experiment. Edison had to persistently experiment for more than a thousand times before finally inventing light bulbs. He had strong work ethics and diligently tried over and never gave up. But he also attributes how lucky he has been to be able in succeeding after doing the same experiment a many times.

Finally, I would like to quote an incident from my personal life. In my high school I was really uninterested towards studying history and social sciences, and so I was really distressed during the exams. I had to read a lot of chapters before the exams and practically could not finish the course well before exams. I took a chance and only studied those topics which I already knew, and risked losing marks if questions appear from other unknown portions of the text. I remember that I was really scared since I did not know about one-third portion of the text. In the examination, I was delighted to see most of the questions were actually regarding the topics I had read well. I certainly was lucky to secure 85% marks by reading only two-thirds of the text, while I recall that my friends who read the whole book could only score close to 80%.

In conclusion, sure hard work is the crucial factor for success but luck is also something which should not be neglected.