Luck plays more of a role in determining success than work ethic does.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to both support and challenge your position.

“Luck plays more role in determining success than work ethics does” this statement of the author nullify the whole hard work done by many great people in their lives like sportsperson, scientists, students and the others which seems wrong towards them. As we know hard work is the key to the lock of every success. Hence, just relying on luck for success seems partial on the prospect of victory of the competitor.

It might be true in some cases that luck plays role for the people. For example, when a student learn five chapters among his syllabus of ten chapters and the questions in the exam appear from the same five chapters comparatively more in number than the other five chapters. In that case, it can be said to be his matter of luck. Otherwise, if we see on the behalf of student who learned all the ten chapters than his hard work still earn him more good marks than the other student who learned only five chapters. In addition to it, when a student appear in a competitive exam and afterwards certain questions are dropped due to certain reasons than sometimes some applicants who are near to the score required get the admission or sometimes some just losses because of it than it is said to be the matter of luck for the applicants.

But just relying on the luck can lead to failure to the people. If a sportsman says that he will get the trophy in the competition without practicing for the game because he is lucky today as he had read it in his horoscope than he is said to be foolish not intelligent on relying upon such things instead of his hard work which he required to win the game.

Hard work made Newton, Einstein, Dhyanchand and Sachin Tendulkar and many others. So, we can’t negate the hard work. Hard work always comes before luck. Since ages we are told to work hard to achieve goals and this line comprises of the experiences of many which surely proves its validity. Further, we have seen the examples of those people who are born with silver spoon in their mouth but didn’t work hard and destroyed themselves. So, we can understand that even the wealthiest needs to work hard to remain wealthy otherwise wealth will become like a bird ( which flies away as soon as he gets chance) to that person who will not remain for too long with him.

Similarly, hard work made Bill Gates, Steve Jobs and Oprah Winfrey but the luck of some riches who born rich but unable to remain rich for longer such as Clint Murchison Jr. born to Clint Murchison, Sr. family but his riches didn’t last long as he lost all of his inherited money and forced to sell assets to repay debts of 500 million. Same did happen with T. Cullen Davis and also with Jack Whittaker, who won the largest lottery but after winning it, a series of incidents and tragedies befall Whitaker and all of them lost their fortunes what they got out of luck.

However, the decision of Mark Zuckerberg to buy Whatsapp and Instagram can be seen as his matter of luck with his blended intelligent foresightedness ( got out of his hard work) which he got from his practices and experiences of being part of market from so many years. Yet, his employees worked hard to make it a messenger with regular updates to remain popular in the market and they didn’t reply that it will be successful due to their luck. And, as a businessman he also did not invested on these software by relying on the planets (horoscope) or on the economist advice that particular investment will be lucky for them instead of it they must have done tremendous research to buy these software.

So, we can conclude that for a competitor both hard work and luck does matter. But the hard work is always primary to the luck for success. Hence, we can say that “A dream doesn't become reality through magic (luck); it takes sweat, determination and hard work.” It is same for success as well which requires hard work to earn it.