The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A popular view our society has on hardship, luxury and strength is easily summarised in the famous quote by Walt Disney; “All the adversity i’ve had in my life, all my troubles and obstacles have strengthened me. You may not realise it when it happens but a kick in the tooth may be the best thing in the world for you.” Its generally accepted that adversity develops our mettle and strength. It is therefore not surprising that many believe the luxuries we are recently afforded do not aid us become strong, independent people. I however disagree with this notion for two reasons.

To begin with, having certain luxuries have given us the peace and comfort and hence, fertile ground we need to develop into the best versions of ourselves. Take for instance the convenience of a student comfortably boarding the school bus to the local high school each day, having the electricity to study at night, being able to advertise his small car washing service online and carrying out a conversation with a mentor on Linkedin. These things may not make one brawny but still do build ones strength and help one develop values and principles that makes one able to simultaneously stand on their own and help uphold humanity as a whole. A student for example, may then, be able to develop himself into a scientist who will help cure a disease like cancer due to the conveniences he’s afforded.

Additionally, the luxuries we now enjoy have helped alleviate the oppression that was prevalent in various places in the past. The internet, affordable housing, accessible courts and police officers, have helped to free people from the clutch of evil dictators and miscreants which have in turn given people the strength of mind to believe in themselves and develop themselves. The internet, for instance, has exposed a lot of injustices that were being carried out on people who merely wanted their basic rights and has helped people gain support in their fight for their freedoms. Also people who would have alternatively lived in fear of pillage can now have the freedom to develop themselves into strong, independent individuals.

People who believe our luxuries make us weaker and dependent normally propose that human beings by nature adapt to their environment and that we are headed towards a state where we are totally dependent on technology and can do nothing for ourselves. I however think that as we solve the problems of the past and new problems arise, we should be prepared to solve these problems. The way to do this however is not to develop ourselves to ensure that we can handle problems of the past but to adapt for the problems of tomorrow.

Human beings have come a long way; from hunting and gathering to mechanised farming, foodstuffs delivered to doorsteps and heating at the turn of a knob. These luxuries we have built however do not detract from our strength but are however accessories we are using to tackle new problems.