The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The issue of whether being accustomed to luxaries and conveniences of contemporary life prevents an individual from becoming independent is a controversial one. As each side has its strength and weaknesses, I do believe that indulgence in luxaries somewhat hinders in ones development and prespective towards life.

Firstly, I would start off with an epigram that, "You start valuing things only when you lack it". For example, say, if someone has got all the luxaries without any putting in any effort, then he is most likely not to value it as much, since he is been getting it easily. You might spend on un-necessary things extravagently, whereas you could have rather used it for something productive say like taking up some courses that interest you, or pursuing your hobby like playing an instrument or anything that you just love doing and eventually, it that would have also benefited you in developing yourself.

Secondly, "Time" is considered to be very precious and undoubtely, it is the pith of becoming successful in life. Your personality and prespective changes drastically when you start valuing time. Struggles teaches you so much in life which changes one's parochial view towards life. Just a basic example which asserts this fact regarding struggles is, when as a child or when you are in your teen years under your parents shelter, you most likely get everything that you want and hence there is no need to worry about anything, but when you go out and face the real world, things are not that smooth and easy going. When you go and live independtly, when you need to earn by doing maybe say odd jobs or maybe repay your college debt, thats when you understand the true meaning of struggle which completely changes your view.

Some might argue that, the one's who have resources and luxary will surely develop their overall personality. As the coin has two faces, undoubtely there are exceptions who will develop their skills, but the number of things to hobble them is far larger than the one who is easy to put up in any situation.

In conclusion, having luxaries and conveniences does affect the development of an individual in some or the other way, and hence the ones with luxaries should definately respect and value the advantages they have and should make most out of it which will help them in their development.