The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Indeed, by studying history and the past, historians could find many similarities between the past and our modern world. However, I would argue that the main benefit of history is not to unveil the illusion of the difference between historical and modern days, but to conclude the lessons learnt from the past and construct a better future. Sure, there are many factors that remained the same in our human history - the human nature, for example, has played a crucial and persistent role in all events that occurred from the past to this second.

However, there are significant differences and evolutions of attitudes of the world we know today, compared to even 100 years ago. In the ancient times, patriarchy was dominant and women did not have any social status or power. Madam Curie, as one of the most famous scientist who discovered radium, is only known by her husband's last name. Only 100 years ago, women suffrage was achieved in the world. However, gender equality and women empowerment has come a long way - from securing women's own property, to women presidents and international leaders - this transition surely shows the difference between nowadays and old times. There are many lessons historians can learn from the suppressed past for women in history, and few of the most prominent is the diversity brought to the society, the economic benefits from including more people in the labour force, and a more equal world.