The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

History is taught to all. It is mandatory for every school to teach history up to a certain grade. The author suggests that the main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are different from the people who lived in earlier times. I agree with the author’s statement for the following reasons.

People today are much better than those who lived a few decades or a few centuries ago. We know this only because we all have some kind of knowledge about the happenings in the past. For example everyone knows that they are better off today than their ancestors who were at some point in their lives involved in some kind of a major conflict or war. We are able to compare our lives with the lives of people from a millennium ago. It is something we can evaluate our lives against.

The study of history also helps everyone eliminate mistakes that they would have otherwise made. We are able to guess what consequences an action would have by comparing it with a similar situation from the past. This way we can alter our course of action in order to mitigate unwarranted consequences. This way repetition of mistakes from the past do not take place and make life better for all of us. This is another way that the study of history would benefit all of us.

Knowing the problems of the past might help solve those problems in the present. For example in the past, all of habitable land was divided amongst Kings who ruled a certain region. There would be constant conflicts among Kingdoms which would end in the loss of lives. Since we know this happened in the past, we know not to repeat the same mistakes. We have countries with laws instead of Kingdoms where wars are not waged.

In conclusion, it is wise to say that the study of history is to dispel the illusion that the lives of people living now is significantly different to the lives of people who lived in the past. Also the study of history gives us a report of our progress as time advances.