Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer

to one question that we come across the answer to another.

while discoveries in sciences and technology usually require assiduous effort, sometimes it takes serendipity to make important discoveries. I agree with the statement that many of the significant discoveries or creations are accidental. it is true that often scientists or inventors reach a goal or devise a product while searching for another. And such tendency is quite prevalent in human beings given the mechanisms of our mind, as psychology researches could attest to it.

many who entertain the opposite opinion would argue that important achievements are not possible without efforts. Undeniably, all scientists and creators who achieve greatness work persistently. More often than not, they will have to endure years of fruitless effort before a major breakthrough. nonetheless, one must note that stating many important discoveries are accidental does not negate the effort spent prior to the accidental discoveries, nor does it refute the fact that many other essential creations are made by clear goals.

The tendency to seek one and get another is quite evident in the human psyche. In the study of implicit learning, researchers sought show the effect of interconnectedness of problem solving. they presented a set of facts and problems to participants. after letting the participants ruminate on the given material, the researchers again presented them with a set of related, but distinct questions. Surprisingly, the subjects were able to solve these questions that were selected to be moderately challenging: that is, the thinking process involved in the prior set of questions inspired the subjects to perform well on subsequent problem-solving efforts. The human mind is an intricate and interconnected system. An activation in one part of it could lead to a concatenation of activation across the cerebral cortex. This chain reaction is frequently responsible for spouts of inspirations for answering different problems and can be triggered by solving one problem alone. Hence, brain science has shown the psychological basis of "accidental discoveries".

In the field of science, the epitome of accidental discoveries is numerous. For one, the indigo dye that is now commonly used around the world was developed as a byproduct of a chemical bleach. The original purpose of the experiments was to develop a newer type of bleach that would be efficacious on different kinds of fabrics. trial after trial, the scientists failed to identify a panacea bleach for different materials but instead found that a specific combination of chemicals would dye the fabrics into a purple-ish blue color that is hard to wash away. Ironically, the intended goal is quite the contrary to what was achieved. while looking for an effective bleach, the scientists found a dye instead. nonetheless, these researchers realized the value of their lucky discovery and promoted the usage of the dye. Although they failed to achieve their intended goal, these scientists instead discovered one of the most commonly used dye in the contemporary world.

In sum, in the creative endeavor discoveries are hard to come around. some require relentless effort and a patient hard; some require the right timing and a tint of luck. Despite that many discoveries are indeed the product of long lasting research and perspiration, some important ones are the result of chances. such occurences are justified by the working of the human mind: when we consciously seek solutions to one thing, the activated brain could lead us to conclusions of another.