Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

With the increased globalization of the world internet and its use for a plethora of information has become a necessity of most people. Due to various innovations in technology mankind's knowledge is enhancing simultaneously. Technology has a great influence on society where mass media and the internet are a pivotal part of this improved society. The prompt states that because of the use of mass media and the internet people's ability to concentrate on different things is getting shorter. However, In my opinion, I disagree with the recommendation and argue that the collective effect on the internet is mostly positive for humans.

To begin, for every technology there are two aspects just like the two sides of a coin i.e. advantages and disadvantages. As mass media provides us with vast amounts of data and accessibility from all over the world in a way has simplified human life to the greatest degree. Nowadays, a variety of resources are made possible due to the enhanced technology and the information we get now is at our fingertips. If we have any simple or even the most complicated question, then it is very easy to get an instant solution through the internet. Thus, the internet has brought people from all over the earth together and made them closer to each other rather than hindering their lifestyle.

Secondly, in this fast-paced world, it is of utmost importance to focus on multiple things at the same time. Indeed, technology is associated with our day-to-day activities from the very beginning of our day till the end. For instance, a working person can start his day peacefully while commuting to the workplace via automobiles, buses, or any other form of transport. If these advancements had never been given birth to, then it would have been such a task to reach our work on time. In addition, if a person forgets about switching off the heater's button, then it's not that big of a deal in today's world with home automation services that are installed in many houses and can be operated by mobile apps.

Although the impact of mass media and the internet is positive on our life, we should not deny its negative effects. The availability of the internet has also given rise to unwanted problems in our life. For example, mass media provides us with information about different events happening around the whole world. This exchange of thoughts, ideas, and opinions about an event is possible through mass media. Consequently, people follow this source to keep them updated with things happening all around the world. However, it is difficult for people to differentiate between authenticated sources and sources that spread false information. As a result, the public might get distracted by the plethora of information available.

To sum up, some people argue that advanced technology has abridged the thinking process of the people because of variety of data and its consequences are bad on our life, but to make the most of our technological advancements one must maintain a proper balance between its usage. Only when we are able to maintain the balance between modern mass media and the internet can be proven fruitful and we can think more deeply. In this way, we can continue our daily activities with ease and make decisions more productively with the help of the internet and mass media.