Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position

With the development of technology and science, our life is becoming more easier day by day. Mass media is such a tool which get modernized gradually. Before electronic media people used to depend on print media which is slower but it distracts people mind less than electronic media nowadays. Though it seems that it has an overall positive effect on our lives, there should be an equal concern on its negative side also.

100 years before now it would take minimum 10 days to deliver a mail from U.S.A to U.K. After introducing transatlantic cable it becomes too much easier to communicate. But after the introduction of the mobile internet there comes a revolution in terms of mass media and communication. People can easily get any news from anywhere in the world with just a touch of the hand on his smartphone screen. So he has to be less patient to get anything through the advancement of technology. As a result, it's quite natural that he has a shorter attention span than his predecessor.

Shorter attention spans can harm us in a various way like in some works where deep concentration is obligatory. We can be easily distracted from our main course because of our this wicked habit. Science, arts, business all form of sector prefer students who can hold their concentration level much longer. Suppose, nowadays a neurosurgeon has to undergo eight or more hours of operation for his patient. If he easily gets distracted by means of shorter attention span then the consequences will know no bound. If an engineer designs a faulty building or bridge due to this immoral practice of attention his design will be a catastrophe.

So it's pretty much clear that to achieve substantial work we can't but need longer attention period. Shorter attention period can only be useful shallow work stated in the prompt. If anyone checks mass media when he sits to study then chances are he can't study properly because a certain portion of his brain gets occupied by that news. Moreover, our brain circuitry forms a reward mechanism for output which needs a shorter time to execute, it can be introduced as a short-term pleasure mechanism. When our brain gets excited on a short-term basis then it's hard to inured to long-term work.

To sum up it may seem that mass media benefit us as the way stated in the prompt but in a broader sense, it actually causes injurious to us in terms of our attention spans. So with the help of reading various books, we may overcome the loss what mass media bring to us.