Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

In the recent years internet and mass media has taken enormous steps in the development of technology. The dot com millionaires have developed social networking sites which have increased connectivity,information sharing and general transportation of data from one place to another. People from all over the world are using sites like Facebook,Twitter,Instagram,Snapchat and its allied networking sites. The amount which is being uploaded and downloaded on the internet is so enormous as compared to what it was 15 to 20 years ago. People having smartphones shuffle from one application to another in a minutes's time without even giving hundred percent attention to one particular application. People use their smartphones while working,while driving sometimes even while doing their private business. We are so wrapped in the smartphones and social media platforms that if we don't access the said applications irritation and frustration start to build in amongst people's attitudes.

Internet connectivity overall has increased in the world particularly in the rural areas too. Also having a high-speed internet helps as the uploading and downloading of images,audios and videos is done in record time. Internet has caused us to be less attentive and instead have an attention span of an insect.Like butterflies and common flies we flit from one application to an another in a minute's time for the sole reason that someone might upload a photo on one application while within a matter of few seconds someone might send you a message on your another application. Mass media applications which have brought newspapers on our mobiles and tablets have increased a human being's dependancy and usage of their respective devices.I agree with the claim that mass media and internet have caused people's attention spans to get shorter but I disagree with the statement that because of multimedia and internet people have started multitasking. The statement in itself is a wrong one as no matter what how many tasks a person does at the same time ,he/she will never do it efficiently and not necessarily in a shorter period of time. Best example is when a person is writing an assignment but at the same time he/she is listening to music on YouTube.Now he is achieving two things at the same time-he is geting his work done but also he is doing it while listening to music.Afterwards he realises that he has done the whole assignment wrong so he has do it all over again.

Tasks which require high levels of concentration require attention spans to be higher than normal because efficiency matters in these kind of tasks. Having said so, driving on the road is a task people around the world do it.Still many lives are lost on the road because the person driving it was either drinking coffee or was texting on his phone which led to him losing control of his vehicle.The enhanced ability to sort through a large quantity of information is developed when you are shuffling through numerous applications but also the information you grasp is temporary and cannot be remembered by us if asked after some period of time.To conclude I think that mass media and the internet have caused more harm to people's attention spans rather than helping them to concentrate.