Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Communication these days has become very easy and various means of social media is been effecting all sectors in the society. Due to which there are advantages as well as disadvantages. But lets see the positive side of it. Any kind of news is spread like a wildfire through means like television, Facebook, YouTube and google. As the communication connects the entire world together,different kinds of news can reach from any part of the world to anywhere within seconds.

Although I agree to the claim to a certain extent as we cannot know each and everything which is happening in the world. The mass media concentrates only on news which are critically important. In the busy schedule, everyone wants to know what is important happening and skim through the headlines.

But we should also observe that people are becoming so foolish that recently there was a video of a girl and a father singing a song together and this video went viral in news. By this we know that people are not only concentrating on important things but also which are entertaining them.

Sometimes, the most important news are also left unnoticed. For example recently in India, there was a gang rape but as the boys were politically influenced the media and news were bribed and it did not show up anywhere. Like this many other news are left without giving the importance they needed.

The internet is the backbone in today's world. It's been very helpful in the times of need but we should also use it judiciously by concentrating only on important things.