Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

The topic raises an issue that mass media and internet has caused people's attention spans to get shorter. The author further adds that the overall effect has been positive since it enhances the ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what's important.

While this is true in some aspects, I would not completely agree with justification that the author makes.Mass media and internet has affected our lives in a large extent. Rather than focusing on real life activities and day to day problems, people are busy scrolling through instagram and facebook feeds to know the whereabouts of everyone else's lives but their own.

This is one aspect of it. The other is that since solution to every single thing is available in social media in various forms such as videos, audios, presentations, short notes etc, people don't bother going to the depth of it or prefer resources which have everything in detail.For example, there are various apps which provide people with optimum resources to save their time energy and money. Such as In shorts which is a news app that provides news in not more than 60 words. There are study materials in the form of apps which provide students with selective amount of resources required for a praticular exam so that students don't have to worry about searching for resources in bits and pieces and focus maximum time in actually studying for the exam. Magoosh has a no. of apps serving this purpose. Youtube provides us with innumerable videos on various topics for free. For example, for someone who wants to learn guitar can take online classes for free on youtube. Cooking, Dance, Makeup, Maths, Science, Piano tutorials are just one click away.

This surely helps people to cut through the pool of information and only select the important information which would solve the purpose. Which is a smart and effective way of dealing with the problems.

On the other hand, in some situations little knowledge about everything may backfire us. As it is said the little knowledge about anything is dangerous. For example, a person reading news from this app called Inshorts happens to be preparing for Civil services exams which requires and intense and indepth knowledge about everything happening around the world would face a serious problem dealing with short attention span. It is always said that we should prefer quality over quantity.So, if someone's working on something he should be able to know the topic in depth for more effectiveness.

Inconclusion, everything has its pros and cons. The trick is to do the right thing according to the situation. As long as the task requires quantity and not quality the conclusion provied by the authore holds true.