Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The idea that mass media and the internet are the trends behind shorter attention spans is a complex one. Technology has been both a blessing and a curse for our generation and it is worth noting both sides of this issue.

In today's day and age it is not uncommon to see children under the age of four know how to fully operate a smartphone, and graduate to owning their own smartphone by the age of six. They can blindly navigate their phones before even knowing how to read, and when one app gets boring, they tap the home-screen and switch to another. Trends in ADHD/ADD have risen in the last decade and many blame the smartphone and internet era for this. By the time these iPhone babies reach middle school, they have trouble concentrating in classes and behavioral issues. Add on social media apps like Instagram and Twitter where kids get live world updates at their fingertips and a MacBook and you have successfully created a generation of lazy leaders.

Of course, the couch potato phenomena is not limited to just children. The negative effects of mass media and the internet are seen with every age group. Take millennials for example. This generation is often seen as less hardworking than their parents and demand more from others. Food delivery apps and drive-through laundromats are now a trend and when someone wants to complain about their poor fast-food service, they take to Twitter. However, it is unfair to say that mass media and the internet are always disadvantageous.

The internet was a huge step for mankind as it instantly allowed for innovation and productivity. Strenuous and time-consuming tasks were relieved by a simple click of a search button, where users can receive enormous amounts of information in milliseconds. Take a Google search of "The Houston Rockets" and thousands of search results will ensue. Someone familiar with the mass media era will know how to swiftly maneuver through these overwhelming results and find what they are looking for in probably a minute.

All in all, the endless amount of news and information spitting from our television and smartphones is overwhelming and detrimental. While it is important for our future generation to be able to navigate the Web, it should also be a goal to limit screen and media time to avoid generating a lazy society.