Men and women, because of their inherent physical differences, are not equally suited for many tasks. "

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In the wake of recent agitations on equality of the genders, it is easy to understand why anyone, at the first glasnce, could scoff at the claim that men and women are not equally suited for many task because of their inherent physical differences. However, if one takes a critical look at the argument, one will realize that it has some merits to it and should not be dismissed. I believe that this claim is true due to two fundamental reasons - history and biology.

First, one has to consider the tasks the genders have been mostly suited for over the human history to see the merits in this claim. Historically, even at the early times of man's occupation on earth, men have had to do more physically exerting tasks like gathering, hunting, fighting wars and so on. This must been because that is what they are mostly suited for from the evolutionary perspective as the only need of those early human was to survive in a tough clime, not prove a point. As evolution has shown us, species that must survive must structure its society in a way that would ensure their survival. We can see similar trends in other species such as ants, bees, gorillas and so on. It is then no surprise that even today in tasks like athletics where the a lot of physical exertions is needed and the measure of success is very objective, men have an average higher success than women. For example, the top hundred fastest runners in history only consists of about 20 women. Thus, from the historical and evolutionary perspective, the two gender have been built for different tasks and thus cannot be equally suited.

Furthermore, one also has to consider the current human body biology and physiology. Scientists have shown time and time again that the body structures of the two genders are different. The two genders have different hormonal levels, bone strWhile the man body is more suited to protect, the female body is more suited to nuture. This could also be understood from the evolutioanry perspective, each gender developed in such a way to help fully optimize the value that they can give to the society, While things are changing rapidly now with less reliance on physical work and more on mental, we still have to consider this difference in bone structure, hormones and so on. Unless the two genders are equal in all ways physically, they cannot be the equally suited to the same set of tasks.

In conclusion, one might argue that anyone across the gender can achieve any task if they put their mind to it and train hard. However, this is simply not true. While there might be few individuals across both genders that can be as good as any other person in the other gender in task suited for that gender, this is just a case of an outlier and should not be used to draw general conclusion. What is true for one is not necessarily true for all and what is true for all may not necessarily be true for one. However, it is clear that on average, men and women are not equally suited for many tasks due to their inherent physical differences