Men and Women, because of their inherent physical differences are not equally suited for many tasks

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Men and women are two disparate being with different unique abilities, and at times are able to do somethings equally. Most people will claim that Men and women are not in par with different task, especially because of physical differences. However, the advancement in technology and rapid world development makes it seems like the physical differences are of less importance. But does that mean that there is no limit to what can be done by either sex?

Feminist are known for their advocacy and fight for equality of men and women. Over the last few years, this has been of great advantage to fight for women’s right in workplace, family and in the society. African continent, known for her patriarchal ruling system, do not ascribe the same respect and dignity for a men and women. As a result, parents tend to favour their male children, right from young age, neglecting or not taking responsibilities on the female. In the past, parents found it hard to train their female children in formal education – they believe that the role of the female child is circumscribe to the kitchen and taking care of the family. Hardly could we find any female child taking up leadership position or worked in a corporate establishment. Considering the role of the feminist in our society today, they have helped to resolve the issue of gender bias in the society, formal education and leadership role – this has ensured participation of female gender as well, virtually in all works of life.

Moreover, no matter how hard the role of feminist in bringing about equality, it is impossible to achieve that in all area of life. Although, there is a popular belief that “What a man can do, a woman can do better” –however, not in every case. We have seen successfully women in leadership and management role, but not in technical role. Because of the arduousness of technical roles which is more compatible with the physical strength of men, more men are thriving in this role than ladies. Management and leadership in an organization is not enough, some organizations cannot thrive if there are no competent and sinewy men for this role. For example, laying and connecting of pipes for vessel reception at the jetty has lesser female than male due to the physical difference, men are known to be strong while women are not as strong as men in terms of their physical strength.

In addition, we often hide under the disguise of differences in the abilities of male and female gender to make a partial decision. As a result of how fragile a female gender is, in terms of physical difference, there are cases were women are favoured over men, working towards the same goal. Looking at the asperity of the training received by those in the force, it is possible that women are favoured by not participating in all the training compared to their female counterpart. This clearly indicate that the physical abilities still determine what can be achieved based on gender differences.

Finally, it has always been the case, that women conceive and give birth – the role of men is limited to donating sperm to fertilize egg in women, which cumulatively led to pregnancy. This is preternatural and of course cannot be reversed or rather science has not been able to prove otherwise.

Ultimately, the assertion that men and women are not equally suited for many task as a result of their intrinsic abilities may not be far from the truth. No matter how hard feminist fight for equality of all gender, it is also good to believe that there is a limit to what a female gender can do, especially when it comes to applying physical strength.