In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

The author of this issue claims that imagination is a more important than knowledge in most professions and academic fields. Even though such a perspective may be reasonable for imagination can really bring us more possiblility without the constraints from our established knowledge, when we delve deeper, we can find other situations which could refute this perspective. Therefore, such a point of view is effective under some specific circumstance, however, I disagree with it for this point of view is not suitable for most of the situations.

To start with, I concede the reason that people are free to imagine what is possible without the constrains from our knowledge for the situation that a lot of great inventions are come from imagination. We can see the invention of the plane is based on the imagination. People could never think they can fry in the sky with their own knowledge. From my perspective, however, a main problem involved in the author' claim is that a large number of imagination can't bring the positive outcomes in professions and academic fields. We can see that compare to people's knowledge, imagination based on nothing. It's a commen case that for invention which just based on imagination can never come true since there is no actually factors to support it, and then it can't bring any real application. Under this situation, the validity of author's claim will be significant weakened.

The further reason is that a new idea based on knowledge are more likely to be accepted by people than the idea full of imagination in professions and academic fields. We know that, normally, people would like to understand and support things that they are familiar with, so they are more likely to accept the idea based on their own knowledge. Therefore, I think knowledge is more important than imagination. Given this circumstance, the author's claim will be untenable.

To sum up, there are, as I have presented before, two main reasons that I can't agree with the author's claim. Before drawing any conclusion, the author should consider more potential factors and possible situations which could impair his/her stands.