In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

“Imagination is more important than knowledge”! This was Albert Einstein’s adage, one of the greatest physicist in history. When one consider the various aspects of this saying, it is true than knowledge is important. However, imagination is considered as the basic elements that empower our ability to know, understand, analyze and develop new things. Therefore, in most cases, imagination is considered more important than knowledge. However, in certain circumstances, knowledge would be considered the basic element of a new knowledge through a series of imaginative events.

We could all agree that the idea of “knowledge” arises from the concept of “imagination”. In fact, the absence of imagination would not paved the way from an individuals to advance and expand the knowledge in a certain field or specialty. The various aspects and elements that are already known to the world, were the results of the creativity, reasoning and even, imagination of important people in the world. For instance, the theory of gravity developed by “Newton” came from the very basic and even frivolous question “why does this apple drop down and doesn’t go up”. Albert Einstein created this saying because it represents the way on how he was able to develop various concepts in his life including “the theory of relativity”. In fact, Albert Einstein imagination and creativity made him one of the greatest and most venerated scientist in history.

Having an imagination did not only create theories, as mentioned in the paragraph above. In fact, being an imaginative individual would provide the potential to create various material elements that are present in the world today. Before the 20th century, such elements were purely considered science fiction or unreal aspects of a story. For instance, before the 20th century, one wouldn’t consider the possibility of computer or even the possibility of conducting complicated calculations in mere seconds. The ability of certain people to be imaginative is what created technology as we know it today.

What emphasizes the idea is that “imagination is more important than knowledge” is the fact that certain fields or specialties nowadays require imagination to a higher level than knowledge. Such cases would include electrical engineering, biomedical engineering, and so forth. Having imagination and creativity is what expands those specialties in order to apply them for the purpose of development, research and eventually, the welfare and quality of life of the human population.

Despite all of the arguments provided that underscore the concept “imagination is more important than knowledge”, this might not always seem true. In fact, according to my previous arguments, knowledge arises from imagination which makes imagination more important. However, in certain cases, an already developed knowledge would be required to give rise to imagination that will expand than knowledge and even lead to new one. This is acceptable in the case of research. Every research paper has a review part that discusses previous studies and previous concepts which would culminate into a new research study.

In conclusion, “imagination is more important that knowledge” is an interesting way to explain where knowledge arises and what represents the origin of every known idea and concept nowadays. However, the other way around may be true too as knowledge is required to build new knowledge through the process of imagination.