"In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge."

With the rise of the internet and a burgeoning middle class with freshly printed diplomas, knowledge is widespread. Students at one of the nations multitudes of universities studiously contemplate various topics, ranging from medieval literature to foreign languages to film. The question at hand is how to best access and apply this knowledge. I strongly agree that imagination is essential to any academic or professional field. Bolstering my position is an examination of the underlying assumption and an exploration of two case studies.

First, we must analyze the claim which lurks in the shadows of this statement. our prompt specifically states that imagination is more important than knowledge for most professions and academic careers, implying a pre-existing knowledge base. These are people who have studied and acquired knowledge in one of many thousands of streams of human thought. if we were merely discussing an insurance salesman, a more proper term for his work would be a "job" not a profession. By drawing out this assumption, we can see that the statement above is not attempting to say that knowledge is not required for success in such disciplines. In fact, that claim is ridiculous.

From here, we arrive at the dilemma of how to use and apply our learning. Application can only be done through imagination. it is the key that unlocks the door to learned fact. Consider, for example, a doctor. By going to medical school he knows each of the body systems, has memorized the bones of the body, and can recite, from memory, a list of symptoms for several common diseases. But, when this doctor meets his patient in the examination room, his knowledge is no longer enough. The previous statement becomes more poignant if the patient has visited several other doctors to no avail. From here, he will have to apply knowledge in a unique and creative way to nurse this desperate person back to health. Where conventional wisdom fails - and it will fail - imagination is all the more important.

A second convenient case study is that of an engineer. While a doctor can reasonably believe that respected treatments will work for most patients, our engineer cannot hold to that steady ground. Instead, each task is different. Building a bridge is not the same as crafting supports for a house. In this case, the fundamentals are applied to the scenario at hand. In other words, the support beams of the housedo not need to carry as much weight as the support beams of a freeway bridge in New York City.

In conclusion, imagination is often more important than knowledge. Naturally, ignorance is not permissible in such fields. However, this statement provided implies that people already hold such knowledge within themselves, and are now in need of a way to direct the inward movements of though and memorization toward an external object.