A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

One major purpose of the education is to enlight students with diverse knowledge in order to cultivate their critical thinking ability. Stand on this belief, I disagree with the prompt and declare that it is important to let students immerse in different curriculums from an early age to enable their independent thinking for the future decisions.

I would like to start with an example of my own country - Taiwan. Though Taiwan now is famous for its democratic society, we actually have undergone a thirty-six years of "white terror", meaning the dictatorship control of the whole island. During that period, only one national curriculum was allowed, and all the students were taught about the importance of fighting with the communist party in China. Anyone who was close or prone to the philosophy of communist would be arrested or even killed. Therefore, it is not difficult to think that a particular generation in Taiwan has endured such a brainwash and lack the capability to question the authority. Therefore, from my own country's history, I know the danger of one national curriculum in that this curriculum can serve the purpose to help the government to spread the propaganda and fool their citizens, which I am always against.

Secondly, the wake of citizens in Taiwan actually came from the spread of knowledge or books that revealed the truth of the government's corruption and therefore led the protest that called for democracy. Hence, I do believe the power of knowledge come from the diversity of knowledge that can be shared and taught in society. In other words, when there is only one national curriculum, people are not able to broaden their understanding, sharpen their critical thinking, not mentioning to question the authority. Only when the knowledge can be formed and distributed freely, can people really awaken and think for themselves, instead of being cheated by bias information. The evidence is obviously shown from Taiwan's development. Taiwan has opened up the national curriculum after the end of the white terror and thus numerous curriculums are used in school to train students' critical thinking toward our history.

Additionally, critical thinking takes time to be trained, and most people's mindsets are formed in a rather early stage. That's why I disagree to deliver diverse curriculums until college, simply because it is already too late. Take me for example, I know the "dark history" of Taiwan from the elementary school and hence always bear in mind that democracy doesn't come with no cost and treasure the freedom that we have now. However, if I only knew the dark history until college, it may be too challenging for me to accept that my country has done terrible things to its own citizens and I may refuse to accept this truth. Therefore, it is pertinent to say enlightenment coming early is critical to people's own development of critical thinking.

In conclusion, I disagree with the prompt and take my own country as a vivid example to illustrate the importance of providing diverse curriculums to cultivate people's critical thinking and equip them with the ability to always think for themselves and question the authority when only one version of the story is shared.