A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The statement recommends that all the students should strictly learn the same curriculum before they enter university. I cannot completely agree with this viewpoint.

Admittedly, the unique national curriculum is easier for the holding of the teaching activities and administration, since all the subjects are based on the standard criteria. In this case, students can get sufficient training in those compulsory subjects and are more likely to get satisfied scores in the exams. For instance, before the College Entrance Examination, the Chinese Students are trained to solve problems in the obligatory modules for more than thousand times so that they are already very familiar with the exams. However, this kind of mechanical teaching model may lead to another problem. Students are only told to study the national curriculum and aiming at getting better scores and entering prestigeous university, but most of them didn't think about their true interests. After the national examination they are required to choose their ideal major and university. But lacking of thinking about their interests and talent, a great proportion of them may find no passion in their undergraduate's study. The national curriculum delay the choice that the student should make for their life---to choose their major and career path.

It is sound to claim that the national curriculum would benefit the standard admission of universities. Tertiary institutes only need to choose from the candidates according to their results of examination. But, it's not sensible to believe that the ability to prepare for the test is the most important competence required for better performance, both in research and other fields. As far as I am concerned, the love for one's major would be at least another significant factor. So, it may not be fair enough to restrict the students only to study the same curriculum. What is needed may be a better admission procedure according to different curriculums that the high school students chose.

Moreover, I know we cannot think about every country samely. For example, the populations in China are too huge, which would be more difficult for tertiary admission if all high school students create their own curriculum as prefer, but I still recommend that they should have chance to study other extracurriculum and find their love and passion.

Overall, I cannot stand with the viewpoint that all the secondary students can only study the unique curriculum, because it could undermine their diverse individual development.