A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

A nation's progress is defined by the socio-economic and cultural development of its youth. In the third decade of the 21st century, the academic and professional stages of a person are accessed through a small yet powerful device known as the computer. Technology, powered by the tentacled Internet, provides students with a plethora of subjects to learn about and develop mastery in the same. However, with a rise in access to resources, there is bound to be a rise in competition.

Students entering into a professional atmosphere are faced with challenges ranging from the economic background; the likes of Taxation; to surviving as a bachelor in crowded metropolitan cities. Students equipped with an education involving various disciplines throughout their school life may be better prepared to tackle situations demanding a career switch, or sustaining the newly entered professional life.

A curriculum designed with a common base of most required disciplines likes science, commerce and arts; supported with strategically mixed electives can provide a solid impetus to one's career. The ability to make decisions in a holistic manner would help a science graduate working as a software engineer to file taxes and understand commerce.

With an increasing demand for data-driven jobs, many schools have introduced subjects like Programming, Artificial Intelligence and business analytics. In parallel, social media has resulted in an uplifting of all forms of Art; cinema, theatre, painting and many others. With so many new professions churning out celebrities in such domains, parents and teachers are tempted to pursue a dedicated career stream right from the initial days of schooling. A tailored program would definitely result in a focused approach for achieving one's dream, but the ruthlessness of competition cannot be ignored.

One has to have a backup career option and that can be motivated early on by providing education and not imposing students, involving subjects of multiple disciplines based on a common base of the curriculum.