A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you t

It is said that the growth potential of a nation is measured by the working-age population of that country, that is, the youth of that nation. The extent to which the youth of that nation can contribute to the development of the country is heavily dependent on the education level of that youth. Keeping this in mind, I mostly disagree with the recommendation of the prompt that 'a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college'. There are two reasons why this is not true and one reason why following the aforementioned idea is actually conducive to students' growth as well as the nation's well being.

To begin with, just how each finger in a hand is different in its strenghts and weaknesses, each child is born different. What might be a childhood dream and a pleasant memory for one might be a disaster for another, a memory they wish to forget. Having said that, the standardized curriculum desgined by the policy makers might benefit some, bringing out their innate talents and at the same time, cause damage to another. Setting a standardized curriculum implies that students would be assessed in a standardized meanner, meaning the instructors would be judging a fish on its ability to climb a tree. Such grading procedures would be taxing on students' mental health, and there might be unseen long-term consequences in the form of low self-esteem, lack of confidence, overscrupulousness, etc.

Further, this standardized assessment might hamper a nation's progress in the long run, where students who could have performed better in another field, may have never gotten the opportunity to explore their strengths and utilize them to contribute positively in the growth of the nation, both socially and economically. Nations like India, aware of the consequences, have started adopting a more well-rounded approach in their latest policies like New Education Policy, 2020, in order to harness the growth potential and help the students explore their interests more.

However, while standardized curriculum does seem to have negative impacts, an obvious benefit would be elimination of the 'paradox of choice'. Research reports have shown that people are better satisfied when they have less choices, which leads to more rational decision-making. Similarly, in the case of education, teenagers are going through a confusing phase in life. Hence, by studying the same content till they hit adulthood would mean that they understand their interests better, and this would help them explore their interests in college. As informed and responsible adults, they would be in a much better position to choose their life paths.

To conclude, I believe that striking a proper balance between the choice of electives and compulsory curriculum would combine the best of two worlds and ultimately benefit the nation and students alike.