"A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer."

The author claims that every student should study the same curriculum until they enter college. I strongly disagree with the author.

Firstly, if every student studies the same subjects and appears for the same examinations, the students will have nothing new to learn. When a group of students from different schools will meet, they will probably end up discussing the same subjects. But when students from different curriculums meet, they end up discussing and exploring new fields. For example, when a student learning science and a student learning commerce meet, they can see a vast difference in their syllabus. A student learning science is focusing on a thing and a student learning commerce is focusing on how to make that thing work.

Secondly, students will be under extreme pressure. There is a lot of pressure on a student to score good grades anyway. But if everyone in the country is learning the same thing, the pressure will increase immensely. It will be easier for others to compare and judge a student. For example, look at our neighbour Sharma ji's son, he scored 100/100 in mathematics and you just scored 70/100 will turn into look at everyone in the country scoring better than you. The difference between comparing students in same class in a school and students in same class in a country is huge. Students will get stressed easily and worry about what others would think. There might be a chance that the child may get suicidal thoughts.

Moreover, every student will focus on the same subjects and won't be able to explore new subjects and ideas. When the chance comes to select a course for their college, most of the students will select the same course because all of them have been brought up the same way. Possible, only a few students who didn't like the curriculum would change their fields. For example, if every syllabus includes science and mathematics, most of the students will end up choosing engineering or a medical course. But what about management and sports? The nation would fall behind in so many different fields. The development of nation depends on the new generations.

Ultimately, I respectfully and comfortably can say that the nation should not require all of its students to study the same curriculum until they enter college. Rather, there can be some common subjects and some elective subjects for students.