The argument says that a nation should require all of it’s students to study the same national curriculum until they enter the college. When we consider the pros and cons of this idea, it seems to be advantageous.

First of all, a common national curriculum would mean that each and every student is being treated equally and being taught the same material. Hence it will be benefit to all, especially the students who belong to poor families. For example, in a country like India, there are several boards who design school curriculum. Each state has it’s own body which regulates education of the state, on the other hand there is a Central Board of Education (CBSE) which design school curriculum for entire nation. It has been observed that the most CBSE schools are private schools and charge high fees and are generally considered better that the State Board Schools. It is sad that a child from a poor family is unable to attend CBSE schools and thus miss out on quality education.Thus, a common curriculum ensures that every child is gone through the same syllabus and thus provides a safeguard against discrimination.

Yes, it is true that a good education doesn’t completely depend on the curriculum but also depends on the teaching methods employed and that all schools must have the necessary infrastructure and resources to teach. But, a common curriculum would mean that there is a unity among students from different school and thus students can discuss their doubts with other students to get a better understanding. Also, a common curriculum will engender the proliferation of tuition classes which would be of great help to slow learners who couldn't grasp the concept well in the classroom.

One major factor which a common curriculum needs to be taken care of is that, the curriculum must be well planned with syllabus relevant to the modern word and it must also be suitable for all student. It’s true that a differently able child would require special schools and a common national curriculum will not be suitable for them. Apart from that, the national curriculum must be properly planned so that it matches the competence levels of all student.

Moreover, a common curriculum will be beneficial for student’s if they want to change schools or are moving to another state or another city. Basic education is the most important and it lays the foundation of higher studies and thus it will prove beneficial to all if the curriculum is common and is well taught.And, ultimately it’s the nation who will be benefited the most if it’s citizens are well educated and has strong understanding of basic concepts.

Thus, it can be concluded that a common national curriculum until college would benefit the students of the nation and such a step will prove to be advantageous in the long run.