A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

From the point of view of my own country, i.e., India, there are different educational curricula available in different states of the country known as the State Boards. The question presented here asks whether the nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. Considering various aspects of the students' lives while they are in school, the adaptation of the idea presented over here would be beneficial for the students all throughout the country.

Supporting my position, I would like to present a hypothetical scenario. Consider a student studying in a national academic school and their father working in a government company making him prone to frequent job transfers. In this scenario, when the father gets transferred to a different state, the whole family moves with him, including his child. Now under these circumstances, if the child was studying in a State Board school, moving to a new state will compel him to forget previous curriculum and force him to immediately get used to the new State Board curriculum. In this situation, if there was a similar national curriculum all throughout the nation, the child, on changing schools, will have a benefit of his previous studies and the new study environment wouldn't require much getting used to.

As much as this recommendation is beneficial, it also limits the potential of the students. In adapting the present idea, i.e., a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum, the curriculum becomes redundant for the students and they are limited to just that. This precludes the students from exploring new things, whether they are related to studies or extra curricular activities. For example, all the students studying the same curriculum for the subject of science, would not be able to accept new inventions, nor would they be able to invent something new with their limited amount of knowledge.

Hence, the recommendation that a nation should require all of its students to study the same curriculum until they enter college has its own pros and cons. It may be beneficial for the students if they are transferring from one school to another frequently, but it also limits their knowledge and skills and their tendency to adapt changes. I, in the end, do not agree to the present recommendation.