A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

Why should there be a standardization of educational curriculum when there is so much room for students to expand and explore their horizons? Many institutions follow this form of education in an effort to create an equal playing ground between students and prepare them for higher learning. But this can actually hinder most students from finding what their true educational niche is, and how they can work towards it. In today's educational system, there should not be a standardization of educational curriculum before college in order to give every individual the opportunity to pursue their dreams.

If each school were to be required to teach the same curriculum to every student in the nation, shouldn't there be similar requirements for career selection? All students would be cowed into learning the same information as everybody else, no matter what their future endeavors would be. If this was to be implemented similarly on adults and how they choose future careers, there would be a national outrage. But this is not the case, and younger generations should be given the opportunity to choose how they will be educated so that they can be better prepared for their own futures.

To require all institutions to educate their students the same way would prevent any efforts to improve and transform education in the ways many schools have already. Newly established STEM schools all over the nation have curriculum focused on Science, Technology, Engineering, and Medicine to allow for their students to pursue what they are passionate about. Implementing a national requirement for education would force these specialized schools to either close down or completely destroy all of the work they have done for their students. Schools like these are transforming the way education has been perceived, and any actions done to change their methods would be a mistake.

Students should be given an opportunity to choose how they are educated even before college to stimulate creativity and allow for changes in the current educational system. In doing so, no student will be cowed into taking classes they don't need, and inspire them to work towards what they want to do in their lives.