“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement is a controversial one where the opinion among people differ about, whether a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college or not. Applying the same curriculum will bring uniformity and equality, but can also leed to unsatisfactory conditions among the learning path of a student in a particular region. I agree with the statement that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum.

First of all, like I said before, applying the same curriculum will bring equality and uniformity. When students enter college, all students will have the same knowledge and they will have the same starting point. This will enhance their confidence and learning skills. When a student would have less knowledge, because he went to another school, he would immediately be a step behind and this could mar his confidence. Equality and uniformaty is extremely important to give all students the same chances, it should not matter if they are from big schools in the big metropolisis or from smaller schools in rural areas.

Furthermore, universities often require students to make an entrance test. It is for all students the same, it doesn't matter what primary school or high school you went to. Maybe some schools adjust their lectures to the topics students will get at their entrance test, while other schools don't. Students in the school where the topics are well studies will find it easier to pass the entrance test, while maybe other students, where the topics are less studied, are such as smart but are having a hard time in passing the test. In this case, it would also bring equality to have the same national curriculum.

On the contrary, some topics belong to just a region itself. Maybe it is for that region a very important topic, while in another region it is very trivial. It could be disadventageous for students in typical areas to gain little knowledge about some previous activities in their region, because this is a part of their general knowledge. If we require all of the students to study the same national curriculum, the knowledge about specific regions may come to loss and this would be a pitty for their general knowledge.

In conclusion, a national curricilum will be of great advantage for the uniformity and equality of all students. When they apply to college they can make their entrance test with more confidence and all students will have the same starting point regards knowledge. Some particular knowledge for certain regions may come to loss, this would be a shame for the general knowledge and thus it would be necessary that there is room in the national curriculum for particular topics specific to region of the studens.