“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A curriculum plays an important in moulding the students academic preferences as well as interests. The recommendation suggests to require same national curriculum for all of the students accross the nation until they enter college. Although a uniform curriculum might help in evaluating and comparing a student's calibre in academics with other students, the nation should not pose a restriction of requiring same national curriculum. Following two explanations give an idea of why I mostly agree with the recommendation.

To Begin with, if the nation poses such requirement, then students have to study the subjects which might not interest him or which scope out from the field he wants to pursue. For instance, a student at Maritama High School wants to pursue computer engineering. But as the national curriculum requires every student to study practical biology, he unwilling has to study the subject and he finds it a daunting and tiring task to study what he has no inclination to. Hence, imposing a same curriculum to nationwide might hinder the development of student. So little flexible is required to not let such scenarios to happen.

Having said that, having a nationwide curriculum made by the experts in the field of pedagogy, can help the student in finding the field which most interests him.

Also, a common curriculum can help evaluate and assess the skills and calibre of students which can be used as a merit in university admissions and higher studies as it provides a base, a common ground to judge the potent of a studnet. Hence, a nationwide curriculum does help in evaluation of students.

Thus, requiring a national curriculum might restrict and hinder the development of the student in the field he is most interested in. However, without a national curriculum which is specifically aimed at developing interests in many fields, a student might not explore the field which can potentially become his field of interest, simply due to ignorance or other factors. Hence, the recommendation should be more fine grained and flexible for such a complex problem, and the nation should make the requirement less stringent and allow students to craft their own curriculum in the form of electives aside from the base curriculum.