The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company concludes in the memo that the problem of fewer attendence in the movies produced in the last year is because of the lack of public's awareness of good quality movies rather than the quality of their movies. Based on this, the memo states to allocate a greater share of its budget to advertisment. This conclusion is reached on the evidence that the movie reviews has an increase in positive reviews during the past year. Before acting on the conclusion a few questions need to be answered to decide on the reasonability of the argument.

To begin with, does an increase in percentage of positive review means an increase in the total number of positive reviews? A percentage increase does not mean that the number of reviewes are also increased. It might be possible that even the reviewers are not watching the movies and the increase in percentage is due to reviews by reviewers who adores all the movies of the studio. Hence, as only a few reviewers, who stans the every movie by the production, are reviewing the movies. As a result the percentage of positive reviews are booming. If this is the case, then the production company need to evaluate the number of reviews to their movies and also, if possible, the profile of the reviewers.

Also, could it not be possible that the people are less interested in the movies as the movies are generic and predictable? The reports only claims the decrease in attendence of people, while it may be possible the production is producing movies which are generic since last three years and people are grown over their movies. Hence, this possibility shatter the conclusion as the people might not be interested in their movies due to their quality.

Lastly, is it not possible that the competing studio is making much better movie then the Super Screen Movie production company? The reduction in number of people attending the movies might be beacause the other production companies had released more anticipated movies the last year. So people are drawn more towards the movies by other studios. Research shows that if two movies are releasing in the same week, most of the people will watch the anticipated movie and ignore the other all together.

Hence, larger allocation of share to advertisement might not increase the attendence if other companies are releasing more anticipating movies.

Hence, the arguments does not hold water. And these questions willl help to evaluate the arguments in a more judicious way.