The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum from the president of Humana University suggests to initiate and actively promote online degree programs to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficiencies. This conclusion is reached by looking at the success online degree programs offered by Omni University, both in terms of increase in number of enrollments, as well as in decreasing the expenditures for dormitory and classroom. However, this evidence is based on assumptions that might distort the conclusion.

To begin with, it is assumed in the memorandum that Omni University's significant decrease in expenditure for dormitory and classroom spaces from prior years is most likely due to introduction of online degree program, as they take place via Internet. However, it might be possible that Omni University had spent a huge amount of money on dormitory and classroom prior to their online degree initiative and hence, the following years showed decrease in expenditure. It might be possible that the expenditure is still huge but only relatively less. Also, since the expectancy of the newly purchased or furnished equipments gets higher as the technology improves, hence it need less maintenance, hence leading to less expenditure. If this examples prove to be true, then it does not guarantee, as mentioned in memorandum, that the expenditure of the University will decrease.

Secondly, it is also assumed that introducing a online degree program will increase the enrollment at the Univeristy. While it is true that an online program is more accessible than offline program, simply introducing the program does not guarantee more participation to the program. Considering a huge amount of online degree programs to choose from, it is has a low chance of getting traction than say a well known

Thus, this assumptions are not well thought out and it needs more thorough and careful evidence to reach to a solid conclusion.