The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author claims that Humana University should initiate and actively promote online degree problems like Omni to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget. At first glance, the author's argument seems plausible to some extent, with a detailed analysis, the reader can still find some logical fallacies that might seriously undermine the original chain of reasoning in the statement.

The first assumption we need to examine is whether online instruction taking place online significantly decrease the expenditure of Omni, as the author assumes. Clearly, other reasons also exist to lead to the same enhancement. For example, in many universities of China, all the lights in the dorm will be turned of and the gate of dorm will be shut down at 11 pm to help students keep a balanced lifestyle. If Omni take the same action, chances are good that the expenditure for dorm and classroom will go down. Obviously, the author needs to make sure that it is just because of online instruction taking place online that significantly decrease the expenditure of Omni, or else he could not justify his later conclusion.

The second assumption we need to check is whether the decrease of enrollment and the increasing cost of maintaining buildings at Humana could be solved by online degree. First, there are several reasons leading to the decline of enrollment, such as worse management, higher entrance standard, or declining education quality. Furthermore, much attention paid to the building reservation could also bring higher cost. Apparently, the author has to check that online degree could increase enrollment and decrease cost of maintaining buildings at Humana.

Even if the assumption mentioned above proves true, another assumption we need to make sure is whether Humana could refer to the best practice of Omni. Apparently, the author does not consider that there should exist great differences between those two universities, for instance, the campus management, education quality and campus locations. Such differences could weaken the analogy of the two universities. As a result, the author cannot simply propose that Humana could copy the successful experience of Omni.

After we have examined the implied assumption, which have approved not necessarily to be well justified, we may safely come to the conclusion that the argument based on such assumptions could not hold water.