The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the memonrandum, the president of Humana University suggests to promote online degree programs and predicts that the measures will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its financial deficit. The author's recommendation is primarily based on the case of the nearby Omni University which has adopted online degree programs. While the president's recommendation may be beneficial to some extent, the reasoning of this argument is unconvincing due to neglecting of several critical questions that, if proven unfavorable, will seriously challenge the author's argument.

To start with, although the author provides the information that students enrolling in online degree programs in Omni University have increased by fifty percent, we also need to know about the overall enrollment of Omni University during past years. It is possible that the dramatic increase in students taking online courses is a result of students who originally take courses on site changing their way of attending lectures. If this is the case, then the overall enrollment will remain the same for Omni University and we have reasons to doubt the president's prediction that instituting online degree programs will help Humana University to increase its total enrollment. On the contrary, if overall enrollment do increase in Omni University, then we are inclined to believe the president's prediction.

In addition, I would also like to raise a series of questions concening the expenditures for dormitory and classroom space in Omni University. Fisrt, is the decrease in expenditure a result of more online programs enrollment? If the decrease in expenditure is achieved through cutting budgets on furniture or closing unnecessary facilities, then there is no point to link the decrease to online programs. Second, even if the decrease in expenditure a direct result of opening online programs, how is the expenditure saving compared with the investment of instituting online programs? If the investment in online programs is so big that cannot be offset by the expenditure decrease in dormitory and classroom space, then the budget deficit problems won't be solved as the president expects.

Finally, we are not informed of the situation of Humana University. Or more specifically, does Humana University have enough teachers, IT abilities and other resources in developing online programs? That online programs have worked out in Omni Univeristy does not guarantee that they will also work out in Humana University.

To draw a conclusion, while I sympathize with the president's intention of increasing enrollment and saving expenditure, whether the recommendation is viable depends heavily on the answers to the aforementioned questions. Only after adequately address the questions can we better assess the president's suggestion and prediction.